Operation: Birds

Posted: 05/01/2015 in Operation After Action Report
Tags: , ,

Week one-sixty-fife of Operation Graphite – theme: Birds.

Shock - Secretary Bird

As I’ve gotten older, my appreciation for birds has dramatically increased. Exceptionally unusual birds, or the always popular predatory raptors have always been highly regarded. However, when I was younger I never could understand the concept of bird watching common birds. The obvious obsessions with flight is perhaps easiest to understand, but as I learn more about even simple birds, I can’t help being absolutely fascinated. Birds are one of the most diverse creatures on the planet. Aside from mammals, birds are the only other animals who seem to have something akin to human emotions. Corvids (crows, ravens and magpies) are some of the smartest animals on earth, and might have to be lumped with apes, dolphins, whales and cephalopods in the circle of self aware creatures.

And yet, I don’t know if I could have a pet bird, part of me would love it, but there is few things as depressing as a creature blessed with the gift of flight, only to have its wings clipped and forced into a tiny cage. I’d rather watch my humming bird feeder as the charm gulps down sugar water.

Shock – Secretary bird

Comments
  1. You really named something about the head, neck, and chest. Sweet!!

Leave a Reply

